DjangoBooks.com

My first Selmer/Mac Style guitar. A little help please?

TexasRedTexasRed South Texas, San Antonio✭✭ Dupont Nomade
Hi, I guess this could be an introduction post too. I have been playing guitar for about 10 years. I also play mandolin and fiddle. I started playing blues and then moved onto bluegrass, still play alot of both. I heard the Stephane Wrembel Trio album with David Grisman "Gypsy Rumble" and really have taken a liking to the Django gypsy jazz sound.

Ive been using my old 50s Gibson LG2 so far and im mostly working on chords to popular tunes like Dinah, Nuages, and Minor Swing. Id like to get closer to the true authentic sound so naturally i want a real selmer/Maccaferri style guitar.

Id like to spend around or under 1000. The main thing im curious about is the hybrid long scale D hole guitars. To me this seems ideal since im not very likely to be playing in a group any time soon, (i live near San Antonio TX, i dont imagine theres a big gypsy jazz scene) so i think maybe the deeper sound might be appealing in a solo context, while still being able to cut in an ensemble if the need ever does arise. Am i right in these assumptions?

Im also a little confused about certain models. I see quite a few 14 fret D models, but im wondering if they actually have the longer scale, since the number of frets to the body is generally independent of the scale length. But can i assume that any 14 fret d model has the long scale? Which models in my price range have this long scale D hole configuration?

Any other recommendations are welcome, just trying to learn. And i havent discounted the oval models. But if i did get an oval, i would want one with a warmer tone that sounds good by itself, any ideas for something like that?

Thanks!

Comments

• TexasRedTexasRed South Texas, San Antonio✭✭ Dupont Nomade
    Im sorry i meant to post this in the gear category. Sorry if this is a bad place for this question