DjangoBooks.com

Gitane DG300 - what's wrong with the stock bridge?

Tele295Tele295 San Buenaventura (Latcho Drom), CA✭✭✭ Gitane DG300, D500
Forgive my ignorance. Newbie here.

Many posts discuss the need to change or upgrade the stock bridge on the Gitane DG300 and other Gitane models. Why is this necessary? Poor design? Poor materials? Is this an absolute necessity to make the instrument gigworthy?
Jill Martini Soiree - Gypsy Swing & Cocktail Jazz
http://www.jillmartinisoiree.com

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Generally it's too heavy and overbuilt. Also, they didn't flare the ends up so it sits on the braces which is a no no. It tends to mute the tone...especially the high end. Usually a better bridge makes a big difference but some people seem indifferent.
  • Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    I had Josh Hegg make a bridge for my DG-300 and it absolutely transformed the guitar. It increased the volume and added a richness to the tone that wasn't there with the old Saga stock bridge. After I upgraded to a Manouche, the Jorgenson was expendable, and the buyer played it with both bridges. After the stock bridge, he wasn't much impressed. Then we put Josh's bridge on and he was sold. Saga doesn't make a bad guitar, but their bridges are the audio equivalent of wrapping a bulky canvas tarp around Catherine Zeta Jones. It hides the best assets.
    I've never been a guitar player, but I've played one on stage.
  • Tele295Tele295 San Buenaventura (Latcho Drom), CA✭✭✭ Gitane DG300, D500
    Does Josh need the guitar in hand to make the bridge?
  • Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!