DjangoBooks.com

Cordoba Gitano D-5 Guitar, is it worth it?

jayjayjayjay New
edited January 2012 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 29
I am just getting into gypsy jazz. I now have a typical Martin style steel string and am wondering if the Cordoba Gitano D-5 is worth buying or if I would be better off starting on my current guitar and waiting until I can afford something better, in other words, is the Cordoba Gitano D-5 Guitar a piece of crap?

thanks.

Comments

• ShawnShawn Boise, Idaho✭✭✭✭
    To be honest, if you are looking for a GOOD entry level gypsy jazz guitar just save up a few more hundred and buy one of the Gitane's. Trust me, it's worth the extra money. I have tried various Cordoba Gypsy Jazz guitars in Guitar Center's the country over and they really just don't have any tone, and are not loud at all. I don't think they are worth even $100 at best, and would be better off as a really pretty spittoon. Even Argentine strings don't seem to bring out the tone in these guitars.

Of course, this is just my opinion, and I would suggest you buy a Gitane...or if you are willing to spend a little more money a Manouche, Gallato, etc. or something from one of the various luthiers that abound.
  • blindjimmyblindjimmy phoenix,az✭✭✭✭
    the cordabas i've played in guitar center were very unimpressive. i have to agree with shawn about how the cordobas are not loud at all, i was drowned out by ibanez and fender acoustics. at one point i could'nt hear the cordoba over someone else playing a nylon string..it was , however, fun to play, i have the gitane jj, and the cordoba is'nt a pimple on the jj's ass, and from reading around these webpages, it seems like the gitanes are considered low end beginner gj guitars.
    shut up and play your guitar
  • Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001