DjangoBooks.com

What height action is your guitar set to?

Hello

I have had my Gitane DG-300 for about 4 months now and am delighted with it (thanks again Michael). I am new to the gypsy jazz scene and have been practicing hard.

One area i have been struggling with is the fast chromatic runs. However the other day while around at a friends house i picked up his electric guitar and had ago at a chromatic run and hey presto i could play it consistently, compared to occasionally on my Gitane.

This got me thinking was the action on my Gitane to high for me. Its not only the chromatic runs i struggle with, my left hand also seems to tire reasonably quickly due to the pressure needed to clearly sound chords and individual notes.

I have measured the height of my Gitane's action at the twelve fret (from the top of the fret to the bottom of the string) and its 4mm.

What action do you guys have?

Do you think i would benefit from a lower action?

Thanks in advance

James

Comments

• Bob HoloBob Holo Moderator
    That depends on a lot of things. If you have a really flat (no relief) fretboard and you use light strings and your bridge is set in the right place to get your intonation right... sure - 4mm is doable.

Personally - I find anything over about 3.2 is excessive - hard to play and quickly diminishing returns.