DjangoBooks.com

I played a GJ guitar for the first time ever yesterday

So I got to try out a proper guitar yesterday. First time ever trying one out, and BOY, I felt like a complete beginner...haha. Granted it was not set up, brand new from box with horribly high action. close to 1/4" at 12th I would guess, and I assume it would play completely different once properly set up, but jeez, that was an experience. Once I got home, I had to pick up my regular guitars just to make sure I had not all of a sudden had a brain melt and forgot how to play...Hahahaha. Looking forward to when I can get one of my own.

Bucobillyshakesvanmalmsteen

Comments

Most everyone would feel the same with that action. It should be less than half that.

Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole

I play with a high action close to that and certainly don't consider it to be horribly high. But maybe that's just me.

always learning
  • BonesBones Moderator

Wow, 1/4" action brand new out of the box??? That is ridiculous. That's not 'not set up'. Something is wrong with that instrument. What brand?

Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • vanmalmsteenvanmalmsteen Diamond Springs ,CANew Latch Drom F, Eastman DM2v, Altamira m30d , Altimira Mod M

They tend to be difficult to play even with reasonable action;)

• crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
  • pdgpdg ✭✭

Better to measure action more accurately -- it can be tricky to gauge just with your eyes. Dunlop or other picks with known thicknesses can be helpful. Action on 6th string can be, say 2.75mm or up to 3.0mm; action on 1st string from, say, 2.0mm to 2.3mm. That's all the height you "need."

Neck relief is another matter -- capo at 1st fret, press down at 12th or 14th fret, fit maybe a 011 string on top of 7th fret (maybe 4th string?); you could have more neck relief if you want.