DjangoBooks.com

Homemade amp...why not? (contains cheating)

Comments

• billyshakesbillyshakes NoVA✭✭✭ Park Avance - Dupont Nomade - Dupont DM-50E

When I started playing this style more exclusively, I got rid of my old Marshall head & 4x12. It was great for rock, metal, blues, etc....just not so much jazz. Probably everything but. I would think the H&K is in the same class, but maybe you can get a Stimer and go for that really wet, overdriven Django electric sound? Just be sure to add your mullet wig to your pencil thin moustache to round out the look!

• nomadgtrnomadgtr Colorado Bumgarner, Marin, Holo, Barault

Yeah I hear ya Buco, there are always trade-offs. I've had good luck with my Supro but I have had the good fortune to have a PA available for most gigs so I can go with the Carlos CS Sensor and not worry about it. But I do some duet stuff occasionally with no PA and I need the amp. I love big iron for rock-n-roll though. Nothing like the feeling of air moving off of a 4x12!

I've tried various attenuators, right now I'm settled on a Torpedo Reload from Two Notes, a French company. You can get them from Sweetwater. It also has output to send DI to a DAW for IR speaker emulation. They have a plugin where you can choose from a huge list of IR modeled speakers and cabs. They sound great too!

Buco
  • edited March 2021 Posts: 4,739

Bill, H&K amps are known for a very clean tone. They usually design their amps with more than one channel and one is usually reserved for clean (which gets overdriven at higher volume) and one or more that break up at varying degrees. The 20W combo has two channels, the 100W head three.