DjangoBooks.com

Douce Ambiance Django's original chords vs commoly played today

Comments

• BonesBones Moderator
    Ha, that's classic Billy. Well, not exactly what I meant (except for someone who is a total beginner in jazz I would just make them learn a few basic chord shapes and then have them pick a song that they like to learn to use them).

I guess what I mean is I don't consciously think ok the grille says Gm so where is the 1, b3, 5 when I am located on or around the middle of the fingerboard I just know that a certain shape works (and I anticipate where the song form is headed). When I see Gm I just play that shape in a certain location I don't think Gm/Bb. When I see Ab7 in the key of Gm I don't consciously think of D7b9b5 but one could. It just is more about reflex than thought. Or if I am playing a turn around in D I don't think I, VI, II, V... I just know where the shapes are relative to each other. There isn't time to think about what each shape is called. And really, not sure that there is any reason to except academically. Nothing wrong with understanding the theory but when you are actually playing there's no time to wonder about it.