DjangoBooks.com

For those who struggle with following changes !

Comments

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    Yeah, I too, enjoy singing while I solo and trying to make the guitar and voice do the same thing... not actually as hard as you'd think, and leads you to some interesting phrases you probably wouldn't have thought of otherwise!

OK, now here's the main thing I've been thinking about...
    I have been playing this style for two years now, and I came from a similar rock and roll, pentatonic background.

For those of us who came from a folk/bluegrass background, this is an unexplored area, as much as it is super-familiar to former rockers like you and Anthony.

So my question would be, what if anything can be salvaged from your former pentatonic approach when playing GJ? For example, playing over rhythm changes...?

I've heard Django play some licks that sound sort of "pentatonic" to me. Maybe these ideas came from listening to US players and copying them by ear?

And I've also heard some players of "jump blues" or "swing blues" play some cool licks that sound to me like they would work with GJ...?

Just thinking aloud... I'm wondering if there's enough common ground for DiJ to offer a workshop with a guitarist (probably a North American player?) who toils in this particular vineyard, to show us what arp-ish players can learn from pent-ish players?

Or is this just a blind alley?
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."

Edgar Degas: "Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things.... To draw, you must close your eyes and sing."

Georges Braque: "In art there is only one thing that counts: the bit that can’t be explained."
  • AhabAhab GB✭✭