DjangoBooks.com

For those who struggle with following changes !

Comments

• Are you using a metronome in your practice
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    'm aware of the harmony change and "feel it" but sometimes I have to stop and ask my self "what's this chord now?" and sometimes even run through the chords quickly to get to the chord in question.

Yup, sounds all too familiar! But hopefully this is just a matter of time and practice.

I've been playing the guitar for so many years that when it comes to hearing and playing the right CHORDS, it's almost as if my ears and my fingers somehow just do it without my conscious effort or knowledge.

And yet when it comes to hearing and playing the right ARPS, wow! Suddenly it becomes a challenge, especially that @#$%! cycle of fifths... I know there's some kind of V7 coming, but which one? B7? maybe E7?

Aaaargh!
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."

Edgar Degas: "Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things.... To draw, you must close your eyes and sing."

Georges Braque: "In art there is only one thing that counts: the bit that can’t be explained."
    I'm looking for a more efficient way to get better in following changes and I'm gonna try this experiment.
    I'll compare three ways, three different methods to practice soloing over a tune:
    1 use a band in a box and follow chords as they flash on the screen
    2 use a band in a box just as an accompaniment but music sheet to follow the changes
    3 play without any accompaniment and follow changes mentally

I'm gonna record 3 different songs to start with as a bench marks; after you've gone (method 1), all of me (method 2) and undecided (method 3) and practice those for a month.