DjangoBooks.com

How to go about learning GJ improv?

Feruza2134Feruza2134 The NetherlandsNew Phoenix D hole guitar
edited February 2019 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 86
I've been playing gypsy jazz style for 6/7 months now i think, but i just don't know where to start with learning to improvise.

Comments

• vanmalmsteenvanmalmsteen Diamond Springs ,CANew Latch Drom F, Eastman DM2v, Altamira m30d , Altimira Mod M
    Learn some solos by other players, that appeal to your ears. Even better if you can find transcriptions that have analysis
  • jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F
    edited September 2018 Posts: 705
    Here is a nice solo for All of Me, courtesy of Samy Daussat.
    wim
  • jeffmatzjeffmatz ChicagoNew
    Arpeggios, enclosures, and listen, listen listen! Hear something you like, try to learn to sing it, then find it on the guitar.

There's a 1001 "licks videos" out there as well...keep in mind, the best players don't play ONLY licks, but everybody's got a bag of licks they like.

Try to think of licks as something that can be tweaked on the fly rather than something set in stone that needs to be performed "as is." You'll get a lot more mileage that way.
  • edited September 2018 Posts: 1,231
    This is an open question that most of the folks here have grappled with. I say its open because you aren't stating what you want to do. I could direct you to courses that are around that are really good. Maybe you can start with picking one solo you like and working on one phrase that you really love in that solo. If you need help learning or mastering that phrase, come back here and ask. That, for me, is the best way to start.
    You can learn licks that other people tell you are good. There's nothing wrong with that. But it's probably more interesting to hear about what you think is good as a starting point.

• PetrovPetrov ✭✭