DjangoBooks.com

How connecting phrases in improvisation

tommasotommaso ROMA-ITALYNew
edited August 2006 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 149
Hi all, my problem refers to improvisation over chord progression.
How can I string together the ideas, that sound good over single chords, in a whole musical phrase, avoiding that fragmented feeling of single motifs? I try to apply the model of the answer-question and other guidelines to connect my lines, but still the result does not sound as an entity with a complete musical sense.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
P.S. I have a certain knowledge oj jazz theory and I've been playing the guitar for several years now (no as a pro)
Grazie Django!

Comments

• woodshedderwoodshedder FlorenceNew
    try this, sounds silly but really works: use your mouth like a trumpet and play solo bits over chord changes, then pick them out on your guitar. this is kinda where you wanna be when you're improvising ( imho ) ...play what you hear, not what you think.

anyway, hope this helps.
  • KcoxKcox Montreal, QCNew
    One thing my guitar teacher has been trying to get me to do as an exercise is to think not in licks over single chords but as transitioning between chords. He has me take songs and chop them up into two chord blocks and I have to try creating phrases that move between/link up those arpeggio shapes.

Not sure if that helps your problem, but I though I'd throw it out there.

Kevin
  • NEvansNEvans Austin, TxNew