DjangoBooks.com

Where to start in Gypsy Jazz guitar style?

I know this question may seem redundant for you guys, pardon me I am technically new to this site, but I just really want to know where to start in Gypsy Jazz guitar style. I always did have a thing for jazz music since then, but it was just recently when I got serious on Gypsy Jazz, Django Reinhardt, etc. and now I want to learn the style. I've been playing guitar for almost 2 years, I started out first with electric guitar and last year with the classical guitar, and I also intend to play Gypsy Jazz on the classical guitar. By the way, I'm from the Philippines and bad news it is, Gypsy Jazz is like a dead meat here, almost non-existing and I don't know any GJ guitar players here nor I know any renowned ones. So, I just have a few questions:

1. Where (really) to start in Gypsy Jazz guitar style? Are there any necessary equipment or techniques in order to play GJ?
2. Can I play it on a classical guitar or should I immediately buy a GJ guitar?
3. Would natural minor, major scale, and other common scales work out for GJ or you guys have special scales you use for it?
4. What books would you recommend for learning it?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    edited January 2015 Posts: 1,855
    #1 on your list is to get "gypsy picking" by Michael Horowitz and start working on your right hand, which is the key to this style.

You can actually use any guitar to get started, but sooner rather than later you'll want to get some kind of gypsy guitar, whatever you can afford.

The Horowitz book will keep you busy for a good 6- 12 months,during which time keep coming back to this site and finding out about the many other fine instructional materials available.

Good luck!

Will
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."