DjangoBooks.com

Valse Manouche - Django or not?

Comments

• Teddy DupontTeddy Dupont Deity
    MinorBlues wrote:
    Is there any Baro recording out there that suggests he can handle that chromatic line so perfectly? I'd be curious to hear it for comparison.

I second that

When he listens to the recording of Choti, Stochelo Rosenberg is 100% sure it's Django.
    ...And so apparently is Fapy Lafertin. The perfect technical execution of the tune is pure Django but other elements of it's construction still leave questions in my mind. However, as I said in my first post, the possibility of it being part of that 1934 BBC broadcast does reduce one of my reservations.

Although Baro Ferret once said that he felt he was the technical equivalent of Django, and despite him being a fantastic technician, I do not believe he was. Django was a smoother player with a greater variety of attack. However, my biggest problem with Baro is that he was not a convincing jazz player nor a good improviser.
  • scotscot Virtuoso