DjangoBooks.com

Selmer, Favino, Busato, etc. for the uninitiated

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the style and to the site and I have noticed that many new guitars are compared to various classic guitars. As I don't have access to anything other than my Cigano GJ-15, it is hard to imagine the difference between a Dupont MD-100 and a Dell'Arte Hommage Oval Hole. Would someone please be kind enough to say a little about the following guitars in terms of:

Body Size
Scale Length
Volume
Quality of Sound

Vintage Selmer
Vintage Busato
Vintage Favino
Dell'Arte Hommage
Dupont
AJL
Shelley Park

and for kicks...

the Ciganos and Gitanes

Thanks in advance!
Tagged:

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Would someone please be kind enough to say a little about the following guitars in terms of:

That's a lot of info....you probably should search through the forum to get detailed info about all these guitars. But quickly:

Vintage Selmer

Body Size: 15 3/4"
    Scale Length: 670mm
    Volume: Loud
    Quality of Sound: Complex with nice mids.

Vintage Busato (Grand Modele)

Body Size: 16 1/4"
    Scale Length: 675mm
    Volume: Total cannon!!
    Quality of Sound: Simple and clear, ultra tight low end and few mids

Vintage Favino (Jacques Grand Modele)

Body Size: 16 1/2"
    Scale Length: 675mm
    Volume: Ultra loud!
    Quality of Sound: Very barky and nasal with a hump in the upper mids. Usually not as much high end as a Selmer/Busato. More lows then a Selmer.

Dell'Arte Hommage

Just like a Jacques Favino, but new so not as much mojo. But great for the $!

Dupont

Just like a Selmer, especially the Vieille Reserve. Again, without the age it lacks the mojo but the VR is very, very close because it has aged woods.

Dupont also makes Busato copies which are very close to the originals in look and sound.

AJL

Very Selmer like...but usually not as loud as Duponts.

Shelley Park