DjangoBooks.com

What kind of finish do you like on a guitar?

Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
As a guitar builder, I've tried about all the different finishes there are and have my preferences, but what do you like? I put up a poll, but I would be interested in your comments as well.

In the poll, please indicate in the first two items if the type of finish is important to you in choosing a guitar. From the next four items, choose the type of gloss you like AND from the last seven, the type of finish material you prefer.

Lacquer: The industry standard, highest gloss, best protection. In the poll, I did not distinguish between the various kinds of lacquers as they all look pretty much the same, but these days lacquer could be nitro cellulose, acrylic, urethane, catalyzed polyester. Which lacquer to use is usually more about the builders resources and production requirements. All offer excellent protection, some people think the gloss looks "factory", especially when thick. Some people feel lacquer, especially if thick dampens the tone, though this is debatable. Nitro does not age all that well, can crack over time. I recently used a urethane lacquer that is unbelievably hard and can be buffed the day after it is applied. In fact, if not buffed within 24 hours, it takes all day to buff it (don't ask how I know this :cry: ) Great protection though and looked great. Lacquers are moderately difficult to repair as long as the lacquer used "burns in" well, not all do. Often easier to spray and buff the whole panel than to spot repair.