DjangoBooks.com

Please recommend best online gypsy jazz lesson for beginner

cornelius90cornelius90 New Cigano GJ-10
edited May 2013 in Welcome Posts: 7
Hi guys, I'm a beginner at gypsy jazz. and at guitar too. I don't even know what scale is.
I purchased rosenberg academy's lesson but it was too hard to learn to me and its quality was too bad.
Now I'm watching lessons of 'gypsy jazz school' but it's quite uncomfortable to understand because the teacher's pronunciation is little bad. I'm not good enough at English to understand that kind of pronunciation. I think he is from Iran or something.
Do you guys know which lesson is the best for total beginner?
If you do, please let me know !

Thank you :)

Comments

• PassacagliaPassacaglia Madison, WI✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2013 Posts: 1,471
    Well, everyone's different, Cornelius. If you want to learn this music, you have many roads in, which can be confusing, I know (trust me, I know). You'll find a host of beginner resources - in fact, Stuart has very kindly put together a thread here - I'd recommend checking that out.

As to the Rosenberg's quality being "bad," I'd have to respectfully disagree. Again, of course, everyone's different, but I think the quality coming out of RA is excellent, and that would include the forum on Christiaan's site, and the written materials (transcriptions, etc.) he provides, if needed. The Gypsy Jazz School run by Yaakov Hoter (I believe he's Israeli, not Iranian) is also highly recommended by a number of people, though I can understand why the language thing might pose a problem.