DjangoBooks.com

Givone's Student Video's

Hello Everyone.
I'm new to the Givone Book. I have been playing guitar for around 20yrs, mostly rock and blues. I have been trying to play gypsy jazz now for 5 yrs.
On this video I am playing to Django's Tiger at around 150bpm. I basically thought AMaj for the first 6 measures and E7 for 8 measures and AMaj for 2 more for the A section. For the B section I thought of AMaj for 4 measures and then used my ear playing just in the AMaj scale. So I used Will's suggestion on matching a Maj phrase with the corresponding Dom 7th. I matched Form 4 pg. 20 with Form 1 pg. 24. Also Form 3 pg. 20 with Form 5 pg. 24
Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.
Darin

Comments

• spudspud paris, france✭✭✭✭
    i think there is a problem with the link. you have to change the videos privacy setting so that those with the link can view it. i think for the moment its on a totally private setting where only you can access it
  • edited May 2012 Posts: 19
    Try it now and let me know if it works and is this only available to Givone members?
    Use inlisted- only the people who read your post can access it- thats exclusive enough no? Or Send the link to thé givone group by email and take it out the post.
  • anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01
    Hey man,

I watched your video. Good stuff ! Maybe next time video from a wider angle so we can see your right hand too.
    One thing I noticed (I think) is that on the A section, during the E7 to F7, and back to E7, you phrased around the E7 chord the whole time. While this works because it anticipates the resolve back to the E7, I would say for your next go round, Try repeating whatever phrase you did on the E7 up a half step during the F.
    Not a critique as much as a different idea to try.

And maybe you did this but I didn't hear it...

All in all, though, I really liked your melodic phrases. They seemed fluid and conveyed the chord structure well.

Anthony