DjangoBooks.com

Radius question to the builders

Hi there builders.
Im a luthier student who just finished lutherie school where i built two selmacs.
Im on my 3rd gypsy jazz build now and am trying to do everything according to the francois plans.
Just finished laminating some beautiful sides and im gonna start laminating linings soon. My question is this:at the school, we used radius dishes for sanding the sides with the kerfing/lining on both the top and the back. which created a dome. but from what i hear (correct me if im wrong) the selmers had a cyllindrical shape on the back and the dome on the top was produced by the pliage and not vertical arching of the sides. so are the sides just a straight taper from tailblock to neck block? and how do you produce the angels the kerfing/linings need to have in order to accept the top and back. I do own the michael collins book but i wasn't able to make much sense of that.

Thanks you guys.
Lars

Comments

• Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
    LarsEmil wrote:
    ....we used radius dishes for sanding the sides with the kerfing/lining on both the top and the back. which created a dome. but from what i hear (correct me if im wrong) the selmers had a cyllindrical shape on the back and the dome on the top was produced by the pliage and not vertical arching of the sides.

Yeah, basically. I would argue the arch is actually formed by the braces and the pliage is just a means of forming the top to the braces, but that is a minor technicality.
    so are the sides just a straight taper from tailblock to neck block?

Yes, this can be clearly seen in the Francois Charle plans you have.
    and how do you produce the angles the kerfing/linings need to have in order to accept the top and back. I do own the michael collins book but i wasn't able to make much sense of that.
    Lars