DjangoBooks.com

Cigano GJ-10 or Gallato Django

Hello one and all,

I've been playing guitar, weissenborn and banjo for many years, but now I've got the gypsy bug (again..). In the search to pick up a good student guitar, to learn and to play with my buddies, I've been cutting down the options to 2 models:

1)the Cigano GJ-10, petite bouche, € 460 Plays nice, for me the sound is ok as far as I can tell. The lower strings have a slight buzz in the first 5 frets, but apart from that it's a nice instrument.

2) the Gallato Django, D-hole, €500,-. Plays nice also, the neck seems quite narrow for a D-Hole, but it seems to have a bit more volume than the Cigano.

A lot has been written about the Cigano, many positive things about sound and playability and all that, but the Gallato Django does not have many reviews. I understand that both guitars are cheap factory models, maybe from Asia somewhere, and that all the gypsy-addicts prefer different guitars than these, but to start playing gypsy i have to look at my budget as well. If the gypsy bug becomes serious, then I will look for a good one.

Since I am rather new to this scene, I was wondering if somebody has any recommendations, advice or suggestions, because I find it very hard to make a decision. The thing is, while playing them at 2 different stores, the sound might sound different, the volume picks up different and sometimes I just play better than other times, so it's difficult to compare the both models. But in terms of quality, sounds and general opinion, which one would the expert recommend?

I am looking for a model that helps me out with learning both rythym sections and lead, I want to learn both, and I play alot with my buddy (he has a loud D-hole by Gitane-Saga), so it needs some volume as well.

Thank you in advance for the help of a beginner in the Gypsy-Genre!!

Blitskater

Comments

• BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso