DjangoBooks.com

When did they record the song I Got Rhythm?

ArnsteinArnstein New
edited March 2010 in History Posts: 43
I'm studying music, and I'm working on a piece about the song I Got Rhythm, and I want to include some Django here! So, does anyone know when they recorded this song?

Comments

• redbluesredblues ✭✭
    Recorded a good few times by Django

1 - Stéphane Grappelli's Hot Four
    Stéphane Grappelli (v); Django Reinhardt (g solo); Joseph Reinhardt (g); Pierre “Baro” Ferret (g); Louis Vola (b)
    1935 October 13 - Paris

2 - Dicky Wells and his Orchestra
    Bill Dillard, Shad Collins, Bill Coleman (tp); Dicky Wells (tb); Django Reinhardt (g solo);
    Richard “Dick” Fullbright (b); Bill Beason (dm)
    Django’s 1937 July 7 Recording Session - Swing Paris

3 - Take 1 - Larry Adler (harmonica)
    Take 2 - acc. by Stéphane Grappelli (p); Django Reinhardt (g solo); Joseph Reinhardt, Eugène Vées (g); Roger Grasset (b)
    Django’s 1938 May 31 Recording Session - Paris

4 - Django Reinhardt and Stéphane Grappelli
    Django Reinhardt (g); Stéphane Grappelli (v); Gianni Safred (p); Marco Pecori (b); Aurelio de Carolis (dm)
    Django’s 1949 January-February Recording Session - RAI Studios, Rome

5 - Django Reinhardt (g solo)
    acc. by Ernie Royal (tp); Pierre Guyot (p); Ladislas Czabanyck (b); Christian Garros (dm)
    Django’s 1950 July Recording Session - Radio Luxemburg broadcast, Paris - (unissued)

Robin Nolan makes some interesting points in one of his books about how Django based a good few of his songs on the I Got Rhythm structure, may be worth looking further into
  • ArnsteinArnstein New
    Do you have a good source for that first one? It's not that I don't believe you, but I need a source for my text!
  • Teddy DupontTeddy Dupont Deity
    Arnstein wrote:
    Do you have a good source for that first one? It's not that I don't believe you, but I need a source for my text!