DjangoBooks.com

5th, 6th string roots - chromatic practices?

PassacagliaPassacaglia Madison, WI✭✭✭✭
edited July 2009 in Gypsy Rhythm Posts: 1,471
I am new to both formal theory, and chord work beyond what I knew a long time ago. Can anyone provide some guidance, in terms of GJ specifically, at this juncture, whether this is a reasonable approach to take when working the G. Rhythm book?

My daily training consists of:

Warmup;
Rhythm Training; and
Some limited picking/solo training.

I am warming up with:

-Stephane Wrembel's initial open-string exercises;
-Gypsy Picking, through Basic Exercises and Picking Patterns.

Then, going into Rhythm:

-Gypsy Rhythm:

1. Working the basic and intermediate chords. Basically, emulating what I had started in Mickey Baker's Jazz book, I am chromatically working these chords up and down the neck, as well as changing each between 5th and 6th string roots.

My basic question - sorry if it's a naive question to make - is there merit to doing this, or am I better off simply working the chords and songs? I ask, in part, because of what I've seen on the Manoucheries site re: chord voicings - talking about GJ chord shapes with roots "taking place mostly between" ) (say) F and C....which implies to me that it is rare to see certain chromatic chords. Because I am older, and have a lot of catching up to do, as much as I want to "learn it all," I also need to be realistic about a finite life, time, and what I can master over whatever stretch is left to me. Am I posing this clearly?

2. The basic Pompe exercises.

-Denis Chang's Accompaniment DVD.

I am following the rhythm work with more from Gypsy Picking, the Musical Examples sections; and general theory training.

The thrust of my question - is there good merit, in terms of training focus, to working the M, m, 6/9, 7th etc. chords chromatically, Fret 1 to Fret 12 and beyond?
-Paul

pas encore, j'erre toujours.

Comments

• JazzDawgJazzDawg New