DjangoBooks.com

How long will it take?

StevoStevo New
edited February 2005 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 3
Hi Michael,

I don't have lots of time to practice at this point in my life (busy job, young family, etc). If I can get in an hour a day, that's pretty good. Sometimes I can get a couple of hours in. So, I have to think carefully about how I spend that time.

My background is in jazz standards and fusion. I've been having a great time with gypsy jazz over the last couple of years. I would like to push further and get the gypsy picking technique together (so I bought your book).

You note in the book that you spent 8 hours a day for 6 months before you felt confident playing at medium tempos.

YIKES! Is it it realistic for me to take this on?

I'm not in danger of doing gigs at this point. I do like to jam with friends, but I don't think their feelings will be hurt if my soloing gets worse for awhile (my ego may suffer a bit). But, I know I won't stick with it if it takes me years to be barely competent.

Does it makes sense for people like me to attempt this book?

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Stevo wrote:
    You note in the book that you spent 8 hours a day for 6 months before you felt confident playing at medium tempos.

YIKES! Is it it realistic for me to take this on?

A lot of folks struggle with this. Especially people who have never had the experience of learning a deep music tradition which has a well defined sense of musical "right" and "wrong." (See my essay on Tradition.)