DjangoBooks.com

Put on new strings, now the guitar echos

adrianadrian AmsterdamVirtuoso
Hello, all,

I have a Gitane DG-250M. I replaced the strings tonight, for the first time ever. I bought the guitar new a couple of months ago, and it came with Argentine strings on it.

I put on Argentines -- the "1510 MF" set, if that makes any difference. That's 011, 015, 023, 029, 037, 046.

After I put the strings on, I started playing -- and now the guitar echos! Yes, there's a very audible echo after any note is played, even if I dampen the note after I play it. It did not do this before I put on the new strings.

Everything on the guitar is original. The bridge is the original bridge.

Maybe the following is relevant. Before I put the strings on, I tried putting a couple of guitar picks under the bridge, to increase the action, My guitar teacher recommended that I do this. However, that's when the echo started happening, so I loosened the strings, took out the guitar picks, and tightened the strings again -- but the echo is still happening, even with the bridge in the normal position (with nothing under it).

How can I fix this? Thanks for any help.

Adrian

Comments

• zavzav Geneve, SwissNew
    >After I put the strings on, I started playing -- and now the guitar echos!

Hi!

Yes, there is such effect with new strings.
    I like it. But it will dercrease in a week or so...

Anton
  • tomcramtomcram St. Louis, MONew
    adrian wrote:
    Hello, all,

I have a Gitane DG-250M. I replaced the strings tonight, for the first time ever. I bought the guitar new a couple of months ago, and it came with Argentine strings on it.
    Yes, there's a very audible echo after any note is played, even if I dampen the note after I play it. It did not do this before I put on the new strings.
    How can I fix this? Thanks for any help.

Adrian

Sometime an Echo is the sympathetic vibration of the strings on the other side of the bridge (between the bridge and the tailpiece).