DjangoBooks.com

Thick pick = loud?

I know none of us want another pick thread but here we go.

so I play acoustic as often as I possibly can, lately I even opt to play acoustic in gig that most people would say are bound to fail without amplification. I just love the experience of an acoustic performance.

Now as very recently I’ve been gravitating towards slightly thinner picks in this setting, 1.5 and most recently 1.25. While I think it lacks some of the giant volume tone and dynamics in the high strings up the neck, it’s done wonders for a clearer tone on the wound strings which I’ve had issues with sounding very muddy. To my surprise at a recent bluegrass jam (a type of music I have very little experience with) the other guitarist had a firm stance that you use thicker picks for a better tone but then opt for thinner picks to “cut” through the mix. Some of them said they went under 1mm when they were in bigger jams for that reason.

now obviously the guitars and strings used make a difference, but as I search for the best volume solution for playing in settings where you need every decibel you can get, I’m curious what the loudest acoustic solution you find. Thickness? material? I know that heavier strings tend to help but selmer type guitars tend to be very loud compared to dreads/arch tops which opt for much thicker strings in traditional acoustic settings.

I guess without a specific question in mind this is a suggestion for thoughts in the subject.

WillieBillDaCostaWilliamsbillyshakes

Comments

• pdgpdg ✭✭

I find it hard to make firm conclusions about this, myself! I think that the pick thickness, shape of the tip, bevel of the pick, and the angle that your pick strikes the strings (actually, two angles for two dimensions) affect how much your guitar, with its strings and setup, will be heard.

Also, how close you play to the bridge vs. the soundhole will play a part.