DjangoBooks.com

Stringphonic 503 Basic vs. Dupont Nomade or Strinponic Advanced vs Dupont MD/MDC 100 ?

DeuxDoigts_TonnerreDeuxDoigts_Tonnerre Lawrenceville GA USANew Stringphonic #503 Basic, Altamira M30D, Eastman AR810CE, Giannini Craviola

Greetings fellow Selmerites, Macaferrians, and Manouchouers alike!!!

I have been playing an Altamira M30D for 6-7 years now, and I am saving up for my next guitar.  The models I am eyeballing in the $2K range are the Stringphonic Basic and the Dupont Nomade.  In the $3K range we have the Stringphonic Advanced and the Dupont MD100 or MDC100.

Would love to hear some opinions on these models vs each other ($2K vs $2K and $3K vs $3K).  And also, for $2K vs $3K range, how much more "guitar" am I really getting for that extra $1K. 

I have read and seen great things about the Stringponic, so I am leaning towards those.  But I know Duponts are legendary and highly sough after for good reason.

I know all guitars sound and play different due to setup, construction, perception, etc.  I don't expect a scientific diatribe on the subject.  So all things being equal, I am just looking for some practical guidance before I make my decision.  Thanks in advance.

Comments

• peterjapeterja ✭✭

Hmm, I don't know the Stringphonic. But if I you got the gypsy jazz bug and go for a 2000$ guitar now, you will probably want to upgrade again in a couple of years. So maybe consider being a little patient and go for the best guitar possible? I'm only saying this because it's what I should have done myself. But I never take my own advice.

• jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F