DjangoBooks.com

Gonzalo "How I Learned" support group...?

Comments

• Andre AgazziAndre Agazzi zürich / switzerland✭✭
    it would be great if Gonzalo Bergara would have an ease version, because it very heavey do learn it to play fast.
    I try so over an year long and i can do all of me but very slow.
    With my band it is impossible to play it so slow.
    I wonder if there is easyer way to connect arpeggios.
    The discussion about that is hard to find.
    FOR SHURE THE BEST BOOK around to develope your one style.
    Thanks Gonzalo
    looking for gypsy jazz playing people
  • mandocatmandocat Santa Rosa, CA✭✭✭ AJL XO, Eastman 905CE, PRS SE
    I've been practicing with Volumes 1 and 2 for about 1 1/2 years now (after taking a couple of workshops with Gonzalo) and can play along with all of the tunes at the slow speed and sometimes up to around 60 - 70% speed. This has really helped me as far a learning the whole guitar neck better. I often play along with the Stephane Wrembel tracks using Transcribe to slow them down which is more fun than just playing the solo with a metronome. Right now I've been working on picking a tune (Rose Room to start with) and modifying some of Gonzalo's licks to make a Gonzalo-style exercise (I actually write it down). I'm thinking that if I did this to a whole lot of tunes that I may eventually get to something that resembles improvisation.
  • Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    OK, I've been working on the Gonzalo volumes for a few months now, and can play about half of them at the slower speed, and here's my take:

1) Definitely, I've learned a lot of new fingerings which I never would have figured out by myself.

2) I, too, started out determined to play these exercises at full speed, and did actually learn to play a couple at full speed, but to be honest, having done that, I really don't see the value of taking all the time to learn aka memorize these exercises at full speed.