DjangoBooks.com

Cafe American Guitars?

Comments

• BonesBones Moderator
    Hey Jim,

If it is the Gallato dealer, I bought an oval hole from him a while back and I do know that he actually did go to France to get it from Serge because it was shipped from there.

Took a while to get here but I was quite happy with the transaction. As far as I know he is the only dealer for the Gallatos in the US.

As far as the Café Americain, I have no experience with them.
  • ShawnShawn Boise, Idaho✭✭✭✭
    I'm with Bones on this one. In fact, coincidentally, I bought my Gallato at the same time as him. I bought the Modele Noire Gallato and it has been an absolute dream of a guitar. I'm not sure why they seem to give off so many bad vibes, yes, they have an Asian made model which I believe is called the "Modele Django" which appears to be an entry level guitar. I can assure you that the higher priced Gallato's are not entry level, in fact, I'd put them up against some of the better known luthier made guitars any day of the week.

As Bones stated, I can attest that the dealer (presumably the same one who posted here) did in fact go to France to pick up my guitar by hand. I was in constant contact with him throughout the process of having it built, and I'm more than satisfied with the craftsmanship. Heck, I can probably even get some close up pictures of my guitar to give you guys an idea that these Gallato's are genuinely well built instruments.
  • crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
    Gallatos are reasonably well respected in Europe - I've seen and heard Tchavolo playing a Gallato Noire in the cafe in Samois square and it sounded great. Serge Gallato has explained clearly that while his higher end guitars - i.e. above 1400 euros or so - are made in Europe his entry level models are largely built in Asia and finished off/set up in France, hence their lower price of 400 euros or so.