DjangoBooks.com

edited August 2005 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 9
Thought I'd introduce myself: I'm a guitarist and dobro/lap steel/pedal steel player whose been recently re-enamered with Django style playing. The recent interest came about after attending the mandolin symposium this summer with my son, and listening to all the great gypsy style playing. Currently, my son and I are working on a set of gypsy jazz tunes for our repertoire and I'm addicted.

I'm currently playing GJ on my tricone. Don't know if anyone else is using a tricone to play but would love to hear about it if so. I'm looking forward to learning a lot and I'm having a great time transcribing GJ solos.

It seems that GJ has the best of all worlds. I like playing fast licks ala Bluegrass, but I've never been a big Bluegrass fan (at Grey Fox recently I spent the whole time jamming and virtually none listening to the bands. )
I also love jazz, but never really considered playing it myself. GJ seems to me a great combination of the two, plus I love listening to it. Plus it works well for guitar and mandolin which works well for my son and myself.

Comments

• mitch251mitch251 marylandNew
    Hi Bill
    Check out Oscar Aleman he was an Argentine cat who swung his fanny off
    on a Tricone.
    Best Tom
  • Actually Tom, I've been listening to him all day.

My major issue is getting the tricone's action down far enough to make it viable. I'm taking it to Mandolin Brothers this weekend for a set up.
  • bbwood_98bbwood_98 Brooklyn, NyProdigy Vladimir music! Les Effes. . Its the best!
    Hi bill,
    Sounds great- Are you a local? NY (brooklyn) . . . if so . . . . perhaps we ought to play.
    Cheers,
    Ben
    Ps. PM response please.
  • oops, never mind.
  • drollingdrolling New