DjangoBooks.com

ever feel lonely? plight of a gypsy player in a small city

dapperdan7dapperdan7 ✭✭✭
edited May 2009 in Welcome Posts: 125
i know at least a few of you can relate to this.Im a gypsy jazz student/player in the burgeoning cultural hub of reno nevada.now im half being sarcastic because reno aint paris but its getting better.when my buddy and i formed our group there was nobody here to teach us the django stuff.so we learned through listening,buying the books,watching the videos, seeing the shows (ok show.there has only been john jorgenson in the area) roadtrips to nevada city to see robin nolan and the djunkyard gypsies and my periodic trips to chicago to take lessons with the amazing alfonso ponticelli.

I have found many people love this stuff! they may not know it as gypsy jazz or jazz manouche but they have all heard it before somewhere. Some guy the other night described it as 20's music.he is off by a decade but you get my point.I have been giving disks of the gypsy players past and present to young people who express interest.despite my being at best an average player, i am an expert in reno so i have begun to teach others the stuff i know since when the young musicians seen my group play they inevitable want to learn.

still, sometimes i wish i was not the proverbial big fish in the small pond. oh well,it gives me an excuse to doing that roadtrip i have been thinking about, to find teachers and students.it will be utah,colorado,new mexico texas and arizona,maybe california.anybody out there relate to what im saying or want to learn/teach as i am passing through?

have a great day!
dan

myspace.com/hotclubderenaux

Comments

Wow dude, you flew in to take lessons with Alfonso. I guess I can feel fortunate 'cause it was 15 min ride for me. Hope it was worth it.
    What can I tell you, keep spreading the joy of GJ!
    If you're in Chicago let's have beer in Green Mill on Wed's when Alfonso is playing!
    Cheers!