DjangoBooks.com

Tears with a pick.

JeremyJeremy New
edited February 2009 in Unaccompanied Django Posts: 39
Would I be able to achieve a good sound playing tears with a pick rather than with my fingers? I'm a classical guitarist, and playing fingerstyle on a steel string is not good for my nails, but I really want to learn this song.

Comments

• manoucheguitarsmanoucheguitars New MexicoNew
    HI Jeremy, Tears was the first Django composition I learned to play... HOWEVER I learned to play it WITH a pick and in A minor as opposed to C minor... play it in A minor and you get to use a lot more open strings and I think it sounds much better in A minor anyway. Purists wouldn't agree but not being a purist... The first time I heard it in A minor with a pick was on a version by Chet Atkins and Mark Knopler on an album titled "Neck and Neck". (I think that's right). It's a beautiful version and sounds much better than Djangos original. I have the whole thing in TAB if you want it. You can learn the whole version in a couple hours. Let me know and I can email it to you.

Robert
  • SigurdSigurd Copenhagen, DenmarkNew
    Actually, from what I know, tears is not a Django composition! It is a very old tune wich was played as early as around year 1600. It was Jon Larsen, the lead guitarist in Hot club Norvege who said this before performing the tune in a concert last year.
    If I remember correctly, he also said that the tune was played by vivaldi, and that the title directly translated to english would be "cry" :shock:
    Sigurd wrote:
    Actually, from what I know, tears is not a Django composition! It is a very old tune wich was played as early as around year 1600. It was Jon Larsen, the lead guitarist in Hot club Norvege who said this before performing the tune in a concert last year.
    If I remember correctly, he also said that the tune was played by vivaldi, and that the title directly translated to english would be "cry" :shock: