DjangoBooks.com

I would like to know some tips for alternate picking like this.

I would like to get some tips on this kind of alternate picking.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dG87ho2-QSo

I have uploaded a video and would appreciate if you guys could check this out and give me some advice.

I am studying Adrien Moignard's picking, and would like to know how to pick alternately.

Specifically, I have a hard time with alternate picking that moves between strings on the down-up. In particular, I am very bad at picking the 3rd string down and the 4th string up and back, as shown in the video.

Is there a method of picking technique that would solve this?

Please, everyone, thanks for reading this.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

Comments

That sounds pretty good already. What heavy metal people sometimes do to facilitate fast alternate picking is curl your wrist inside which gives your hand the angle where the hand naturally avoids the string on the way up.

But then you have people who do it incredibly well without being aware they're doing anything special. And they aren't using any specific techniques. Like Andy Wood on one of Troy Grady videos. Troy Grady has a lot of cool stuff on all kinds of picking.

Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • JasonSJasonS New

Agreed with Buco. Experiment with slanting your pick and/or wrist in a way to overcome getting the pick 'trapped' between strings. Also definitely check out those Troy Grady videos Buco mentioned.

You also may find it helpful to work backwards with this kind of technique where you set the metronome high and just brute force your way along until the hands sync up and you can play in time, and then work backwards from there with gradually slower tempos. The opposite of the usual advice to start slow and work your way up.

A few more things now that I could try this with the guitar: