DjangoBooks.com

Guitar video lessons with Buco

in Welcome Posts: 4,730

Hey all,

I decided to start offering video lessons: Skype, Zoom, WhatsApp etc... Below is the introduction about that and my approach to teaching and studying.

I've been teaching privately in my area for a couple of years now and have gotten good feedback. In-person teaching is really my preferred way because I can hear and notice things in someone's playing that can be missed over a video call. That's one of my strengths, I believe, being able to see and hear things in someone's playing that might need addressing. But not as "this is how it should be done", rather "it might sound better if it's done this way". With video calls there are benefits of course, no travel time, being able to connect with people globally, the student is in their own comfortable space etc...

I don't offer a method or a system. My practice philosophy is laid out in my "two minute practice" article and that's my method. I don't see It changing but it's still evolving. I don't have a pre-planned curriculum. You could say it's a collaborative curriculum. My approach to getting better can be summed up as "fix what doesn't work". Of course, this is for a person who is past a beginner stage, when basic guitar playing skills are already there and there is plenty of stuff that needs fixing.