DjangoBooks.com

What makes a guitar wet or dry?

Hi everyone,

While I'm not new to guitar, I'm new to gypsy jazz guitars. When I decided to get one, I did a lot of research. I figured out how much I needed to spend to get a good sounding, good quality guitar and decided on a Stringphonic Advanced, a decision I'm very happy I made. I don't have anything to compare this guitar to but it meets the needs of what I imagined I wanted from one of these guitars based on what I heard in recordings and saw on videos. I knew I didn't want anything that sounded like a banjo, thin and tinny. My Stringphonic is loud, full and rich. And the workmanship is very nice.

When I started looking for a guitar I heard about some guitars being too "wet" and I didn't' really understand what that meant. On a flat top guitar like my Huss and Dalton, sympathetic vibrations from other strings are what makes the guitar ring and sound open. But I've learned that on a gypsy jazz guitar, they do this so much, that it can actually become a problem. Especially because the technique dictates that the wrist angle away from the bridge allowing open strings to vibrate (maybe the left hand should be more responsible for muting strings). Using a different technique you could suppress some of that sympathetic ring by muting strings that weren't be played, sort of like you do on an electric guitar being played through a loud amp.

So what makes a GJ guitar sound wet or dry. My Stringphonic does have some of this wetness but I'm told that over time this will lessen. Why? What will change to make the guitar sound dryer? Someone suggested that as the lacquer finish cures and pulls down on the wood it will exhibit this "wetness" to a lesser extent. Is this true? What are the thoughts of the those of you who have experience with these guitars. Do the 80 year old Selmers sound wet? Is this something that becomes better with age? Thanks for opinions.

Chris

Comments