DjangoBooks.com

New player seeks advice from seasoned GJ players

David_HammDavid_Hamm Scappoose, OR USANew DG-300 Gitane
in Technique Posts: 1

Hello,

I am new to Gypsy Jazz. I would be interested in advice to get "up and running" the quickest. Looking back at all you have learned over the years of playing Gypsy Jazz guitar, what is (in your opinion) the most valuable thing to learn first so the "overwhelmed" feeling doesn't lose the "wind from my sails"? ..so to speak. I understand it is mainly by arpeggios of the chords as they are being played, but I feel like I am missing something that would help me.

So if you are willing to help me out here, what has benefitted you the most in your learning?

Thanks!

Comments

• nomadgtrnomadgtr Colorado Bumgarner, Marin, Holo, Barault

Welcome David!

It helps to know your frame of reference but for many of us, we were musicians before embracing Django. So for example, in my personal journey I had to learn the techniques which are far different from the rock and contemporary jazz/fusion that I came from. So spending a considerable amount of time playing slow to develop that technique so I could produce the tones I was seeking to achieve. It helps me personally if I immerse myself in the music I want to play so I listened to endless hours of not only Django but all the modern era players in the genre. For me it was initially the right hand technique that took a lot of focus. Some pick up on that quicker than others. Taking it slow and develop your tone is my advice. Speed comes later. Yes arpeggios are a good left hand start. Chord shapes and learning la pompe are as well. Get a good grip on those and you'll have a solid foundation.

• BonesBones Moderator

For sure learn to comp well and people will want to play with you. Memorize the changes to LOTS of songs and practice by playing along with bands that you like. Slow down on Youtube to where you can play cleanly. Keep good time.

MikeKwimBuco
  • TwangTwang New