DjangoBooks.com

Question regarding picking, video inside.

SwedeinLASwedeinLA New
in Technique Posts: 42

As some of you might know I am brand new to the GJ world and I am practicing my picking technique.

The first 2 examples I am doing (down on every string) but I am picking every note. The last 2 examples I am also picking every note, but more in a sweeping manner.

I'm not sure If I even explain myself correctly (English is not my first language). But if you watch my right hand you might see what I am talking about. Picking every note vs picking every note but coming from a "rest".

Or is this only a difference how you approach it, depending how fast the line is?

I am slowly getting obsessed with this whole thing:)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9NLejFEqLM

Comments

It'd be easier to watch you play a transcribed phrase or a typical lick (bunch of videos on YT with that) you learned. Listening to something in a musical context would be better. I think it's fine and sounds good. Your wrist is flat and in this style it's usually arched some. Although there are top players in the style with flat or nearly flat wrist, majority of the best players arch the wrist in varying degrees, whatever feels comfortable. This helps driving the strings towards the top which gives the tone that pop.

SwedeinLA
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • SwedeinLASwedeinLA New

Thanks for the reply buco. I was just curious if one way or the other (out of the 2) was considered the correct way. I have been trying to get in to the arched wrist as I do notice myself it projects the tone a lot better. I appreciate the reply

Buco
  • wdickersonwdickerson Austin, TXNew Holo #73

Hey, nice work! It looks like you are making great progress.