DjangoBooks.com

Luthiers: what makes gypsy guitars sound so different from American acoustic guitars...?

Comments

• TwangTwang New

Surely the point the guy was making was his mate is so sold on the tone of a Gypsy guitar that, to his ears, everything else pales in comparison. It’s no reflection on Maton guitars.

wimBones
  • BrettNBrettN New

I'm new to the whole GJ thing and don't mean to hijack this thread but I've only recently discovered the music and playing of Wim's mate Jon (I'm guessing you meant Jon Delaney Wim-forgive me if you didn't)....this guy was amazing!! I live in Australia and was shattered to learn that he passed away only recently. Since first hearing Jon play I checked out as much as I could of him on Youtube et. and to me his playing and musicianship is just next level. He was only 43 when he passed and I think had only been playing GJ guitar for maybe 10 years before a lot of that material was posted- he covered a lot of ground quick! He's the kind of player I would've travelled to Melbourne for lessons with- great chops but also emotionality- the song always seemed to come first. I wasn't surprised to read somewhere that Jon had travelled to Europe and had some lessons with Fapy Lafertin- again I hear the same thing in Fapy's playing.

Anyway- sorry to hijack your thread Lango-Django....

and great playing on those clips with Jon Wim....I wished I got to GJ earlier and found Jon while he was still with us..

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    edited September 2021 Posts: 1,854

Thanks, Brett.

I still live in hopes of having some of our luthier members respond to my original question.

But it seems likely that the reason for that is because there is no really good easy answer…?

Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."