DjangoBooks.com

World-Class GJ players who DON’T use “Gypsy Picking”/Rest Stroke Technique?

Hey,

I’m a 30 year working pro guitarist who’s just making an entry into the world of gypsy jazz........at least attempting it myself.

I have Micheal’s book and plan to work diligently with it for a while to see what happens. Looking forward to it.

But, as a matter of contrasting and comparing the differences, could you make suggestions of excellent GJ players who DON’T use the traditional picking technique Michael teaches?

Off the top of my head, I can think of Jon Jorgensen and Martin Taylor.

Who else? Just curious to compare the different styles and tone production.

Thanks!

Comments

• adrianadrian AmsterdamVirtuoso

Sounds like you're looking for an excuse not to learn it? :-)

Check out Olli Soikkeli for an excellent guitarist who doesn't use the technique.

Adrian

JimfogJosewimBillDaCostaWilliams
  • JimfogJimfog

Ha! Not at all........though I suspected it might sound that way.

No, just curious what the differences are.

Thanks!

• BonesBones Moderator

Use whatever technique you like if you get the tone and phrasing that you want. I'm not sure who uses strict technique or not though so I guess you would have to check out a lot of vids to figure that out. Let us know what you discover,

• ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2019 Posts: 867

I think you will find with all players fluent in the GJ style even players who "don't use the traditional technique" at all times still have to use it some of the time as certain idiosyncratic lines demand it. I believe once you decide to give it a try because a certain line intrigues you, you will start to realize there is an economy and ease to doing it, and if you have some fretboard knowledge a plethora of new options open up for you.

MichaelHorowitzBonesBucoBillDaCostaWilliams
  • dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    edited October 2019 Posts: 2,159