DjangoBooks.com

Home Recording: Any Advice?

edited November 2016 in Recording Posts: 3
Hello fellow Djangophiles,

I have decided to make a little recording in my modest home studio (a.k.a my desk).

My setup:

Windows 7 PC
Reaper v5.29/64x
M-Audio Fast Track Pro Interface

Mics:
* Audio-Technica AT 831b
* Shure SM57

Guitar:
* Gitane DG-500

I have no real experience with the technical aspects of recording so I was wondering if anybody had some advice relating to a a good positioning of the microphones. When I play live, I use the AT clamped to the sound hole, with the mic pointing into the guitar towards the ground in order to minimize feedback. This setup resulted in a quite dull sound when I recorded it, however. I got the best sound, so far, when clamping the mic to the sound hole on the outside with the mic point towards the bridge (see attached file). The main problem with this is that the signal is relatively weak.

So my questions are:

* What's the best position for the AT? Could I offset the weak signal using some effect (something similar to normalization in audacity)?
* What's a good position for the Shure ? (I haven't used it so far.)
* Do you have any other suggestions, do's, don'ts etc.?
* Should I balance rhythm and solo guitar left/right?
* Should I use reverb?

For the bass a friend recommended simply using a clean guitar signal with an octaver effect. Good idea? Bad idea? Any advice?

EDIT: To clarify: I want to record rhythm guitar, solo guitar as well a bass. Alternatively, I could borrow a Fender Jazz Bass from a friend.

Thanks!

Cheers,
Lennart

Tagged:

Comments

• crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole