DjangoBooks.com

How do you amplify your maccaferri guitar?

Hi there fellow Djangologists

I have been playing gypsy jazz for 5-6 years now, and I still haven't found a satisfying way to amplify my Gitane DG-350 Modele Jan Akkerman. This is my first post on this forum, and I am very exited to hear about the different ways you guys are amplifying maccaferri guitars. Sorry it got quite long...

The ideal sound that I am looking for, and what I hear in my head, is the pure crisp acoustic sound of the instrument - just way way louder. But sound engineers keep telling me that it is physically impossible to generate this sound through an amplifier. I play both small bar/cafe gigs on backgear, and bigger stages with sound techs, monitor man etc, and I'm aiming for a setup that can work for it all. So I can't rely on on-stage condenser mics or anything like that.

I have tried out a lot of gear, and right now I think I need a mix of a mic (condenser preferably) and a more stabile sound source like some sort of pickup.

So far (in chronological order):

Amps
First I tried the Fishman Loudbox mini which worked out quiet fine - until I got the AER Compact 60/3 that I currently use.

Pick up systems
Shadow Electronics SH-NFX-MAC
The first I tried. Sounded a lot like plastic and was kind of prone to feedback.

Stimer reissue ST48 D Hole
I must admit that I like the sound of this magnetic pickup. If you're aiming for the later electric Django sound, this could be a way - but not the sound I am looking for.
Also, this single coil pickup did hum a lot.

I then got the DPA 4099 clip on condenser mic. This is actually the best sound quality I have reached so far. The main problem here is the feedback. By running it through an Headway EDB-2 eq/preamp I was able to get a bit more volume, but still not enough for small backgear shows.