DjangoBooks.com

The Gypsy Jazz Jam Guide

Comments

Great points Stuart. But let me say this again, I've seen Alfonso in jams with complete beginners doing all the wrong things and he was always very patient and forgiving.

But seriously 17 minutes jams are a great practice to build the left hand stamina, especially on pumpers like Sweet Georgia Brown. You know how they say, if you can't stand the heat then get the hell out of the kitchen.
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
    I know what you mean, I witnessed one of those situations at DIJ '13 where Adrien M, Dario N, and a few others got together for a nightly jam and this guy joined them. I've seen him around the camp and he's pretty good, fast but mostly basing his playing on arpeggios, nowhere in the league of top guys though. There were definitely looks being directed but this dude didn't get the message. I think in his own mind he thought he belonged there. It was still all good, the guys were still pretty accommodating, and the jam was epic even with the extras.
  • Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    At DiJ jam sessions, there's a one top player who really takes that "look in his eye" thing to the next level... I'd even go so far as to say the he gives rival guitarists "the evil eye"... truly demonic!

I'm not going to mention his name, but it's pretty amusing to watch...
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."

Edgar Degas: "Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things.... To draw, you must close your eyes and sing."

Georges Braque: "In art there is only one thing that counts: the bit that can’t be explained."
  • bopsterbopster St. Louis, MOProdigy Wide Sky PL-1, 1940? French mystery guitar, ‘37 L-4
    Guys and gals at our local jam are respectful of these rules that were developed out of necessity: