DjangoBooks.com

Learning Resources for Chromatic Harmonica PLayer

in Welcome Posts: 3
Hi I'm completely new to gypsy jazz, trying to figure out where to begin. I want to learn to play gypsy jazz on chromatic harmonica. I am a classically trained oboist, so I already know my theory, scales, how to read music, etc. I also have lots of experience improvising in blues and country styles, but of course the chord progressions etc are much simpler in those styles. I don't have any experience in jazz. I don't play guitar.

I'm thinking that a site or play along book/CD series geared towards a classical violinist wanting to learn how to play like Grappelli et al might be best for me. Ideally I want play along CDs / MP3s of the standard tunes (fast / slow, with and without lead) to learn the tunes and chord progressions, and some transcriptions of solos and licks by Grappelli others to help learn the vocabulary. There may be a structured, gradual way to learning all this I don't know.

There's a ton of stuff out there and it's hard to know which ones are the best.

Thanks!

Comments

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    edited December 2014 Posts: 1,855
    To be honest, the idea of gypsy jazz harmonica is going to be a tough sell among your fellow musicians.

I mean, the community does tolerate accordion players, but this may just be, in the words of the late WC Fields, "carrying democracy too far". ;-)

Why don't you start by copying Toots Thielmans?

I'm told he plays a mean jazz guitar, BTW.
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."

Edgar Degas: "Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things.... To draw, you must close your eyes and sing."

Georges Braque: "In art there is only one thing that counts: the bit that can’t be explained."
  • Russell LetsonRussell Letson Prodigy