DjangoBooks.com

Improvisation while learning "Gypsy Jazz Techniques" book.

2»

Comments

• Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    Yes, a very smart post by Amund.

What sometimes interferes with my ear-to-fingers connection is if i start looking at my fingers and start thinking about visual patterns... Gotta try to not do that!

Plus I've got to make a habit of tapping my #%^! foot...
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."

Edgar Degas: "Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things.... To draw, you must close your eyes and sing."

Georges Braque: "In art there is only one thing that counts: the bit that can’t be explained."
  • anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01
    Maybe most people don't experience it like this, but I certainly do. It has been a recurring phenomenon in my practice since I started practicing improvisation.

Yes Amund, this is a very real phenomenon. I first learned about this from a teacher in college who described a gymnastics teacher who found that his students would often complain that they were "getting worse" in spite of all their practice.

so he started video taping their routines over a year's time period. Then he would show them the routines from a year ago compared to in the present so they could see just how much better they looked, dispelling the idea they had that they were in fact getting worse.

As for some practical advice on improvisation - Pick ONE song and get REALLY good at that song. Get really good at all the arpeggios over it in every position, create your own lick etude over the song, and practice improvising over a play along of just that one song for like 2 weeks straight. AND if you want to go the extra mile, learn Django's original solo over the song.