DjangoBooks.com

What's Your Gypsy Jazz Origin Story???

124»

Comments

• BonesBones Moderator
    "Hope to keep learning until my hands stop working."

Ha, ha, roger that!
  • AmundLauritzenAmundLauritzen ✭✭✭✭
    My story is the classic cliche rock guitarist story, but it took an unexpected turn towards bebop jazz and eventually Djangos music.
    I started playing guitar at 15 because I wanted to be one of the cool kids. I was the typical rock kid who liked metallica and wanted to play with tons of distortion, and eventually get all the ladies. That didn't really happen.
    I didn't practice much. Didn't really start playing much until I was 18 or 19 years old and then I played the songs of Steve Vai and Joe Satriani - or I tried.
    At 20 years old I got into bebop jazz after hearing Pat Martino. I was so hooked and wanted to learn that. Around that time when I was browsing the only record store in my city that had a decent selection of jazz, I stumbled across Hot Club Records. I knew nothing of Django music at that time, but I had heard the name "Jimmy Rosenberg" before, so I bought the album "Trio" which is with Nomy Rosenberg on rhythm guitar and Svein Aarbostad on bass. That was it! I absolutely loved the sound of the guitar and the way he played. He was so free and the ideas flowed. He had a fire in his playing that was so exciting! This also introduced me to The Rosenberg Trio which blew me away! When the Rosenberg Academy opened I started learning this music and haven't looked back since. I'd played bebop jazz for 3-4 years before that, but that is not getting so much priority now as it should. Most of my time goes to practice Djangos music from Stochelos lessons.