DjangoBooks.com

Introduction and Questions

AngelojfAngelojf New
edited July 2011 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 18
Hi,

First post here. I too, am a graduate of FSU! I saw Pearl Django in Hanover PA about a year ago, too!

I can play guitar OK, I guess, but just old style rock and roll, blues, etc. I know chords OK....I must say that I am not very good at lead guitar except for some Johnny B Goode and bluesy type stuff...I'm much better playing rhythm than leads...

I am getting together with a stand-up bass player and we'd really like to do Django, Gypsy Jazz material. The bass player and myself (with mostly others joining) have played out together, and we've played jazz standards, rock, etc.

So for me, I'm primarily looking for direction for learning how to play lead guitar in the Gypsy Jazz style.

Some questions:

1) Do you think its very important to learn to read music to learn this style? I can read ok, but only in the first position.

2) Wondering what you guys think of the book L'Espirit Manouche by Romane and Derek Sebastian for a relative newbie like myself as opposed to the other books you talk about in what I think is the 101 thread.

3) I also have the book Pearl Django Play Along Songbook, Vol 1., and I'm wondering what you guys think of in terms of a relative newbie like myself using that book

Anyway, its good to be here, thanks in advance for any replies, and thanks for what looks like a great site.

- Angelo

Comments

• peterjapeterja ✭✭
    Welcome and good luck 8)

1. You really don´t need to read music to play this style (even though all kind of musical knowlegde will help you in the end).