edited September 2010 in Technique Posts: 6
Hello,
I'm a beginner and I've learnt that I should play Dm like this:
dmorig.gif

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Now I've started with a gypsybook and Dm suddenly looks like this:
44846834.gif

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I don't understand the last one, what does the V mean or the black stripe? Can anybody explain me where I should put my fingers? It's probably really simple but i just don't get it

Comments

• Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
    The V is the roman numeral for 5, indicating the fifth fret and the line means "bar" all the frets, in this case with your first finger.

CB
  • Lango-DjangoLango-Django Niagara-On-The-Lake, ONModerator
    edited September 2010 Posts: 1,855
    Amiga, sounds like you may need a few lessons with a qualified teacher to get started.

[Sorry, Craig! I've just re-edited this post because I carelessly and mistakenly thought it was you who had posed the original question--- sorry!]

Both of the fingerings you sent for a D minor chord are correct, but perhaps you don't yet know that there are many different places on the fingerboard where you can play any given chord on the guitar.

These are known as "chord inversions", and a good instructor can help you understand more about how they work.

Will
    Paul Cezanne: "I could paint for a thousand years without stopping and I would still feel as though I knew nothing."

Edgar Degas: "Only when he no longer knows what he is doing does the painter do good things.... To draw, you must close your eyes and sing."

Georges Braque: "In art there is only one thing that counts: the bit that can’t be explained."
  • blindjimmyblindjimmy phoenix,az✭✭✭✭
    Hey Amiga, wait till you see how the m7b5 chord shape is used for minor chords !
    shut up and play your guitar
  • djangologydjangology Portland, OregonModerator