DjangoBooks.com

nylon strings in Gypsy Jazz

hi guys

I would like to ask you for help. I am new to the gypsy jazz guitars and equipment.
I saw on youtube Stochelo Rosenberg playing on a guitar with nylon strings. I wonder if nylon strings used in Gypsy Jazz are the same nylon strings that Classical guitar players are using or if there exist nylon strings designed ' specifically' for gypsy jazz playing? I just bought cigano gj 10 and wonder if it is possible to try using nylon strings with my guitar?

comments will be appreciated

Comments

• Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    edited March 2011 Posts: 1,002
    They are the same strings as a classical guitar would use.

They probabaly wouldn't work so well on your Cigano. Fan bracing works better on nylon string guitars, and I think the lack of string tension using nylon vs. steel would cause the guitar to seriously underperform.

Alfonso Ponticelli uses a flamenco guitar for his gypsy jazz gigs on occasion, and I saw Ottorino Galli in Chicago playing a 14-fret nylon string gypsy guitar. There's a video clip on YouTube.
    I've never been a guitar player, but I've played one on stage.
    Also check out Thomas Dutronc.
  • Tele295Tele295 San Buenaventura (Latcho Drom), CA✭✭✭ Gitane DG300, D500
    We just put nylon strings on our Cigano GJ-15 this weekend, and it sounds pretty darn good! It's a little on the dark side, but it's much louder than I thought it would be. It works very well for Jill's rasegudo picking on some of our Latin tunes. The Argentines tear up her fingernails with this style.

I used Ernie Ball "Folk" strings, which have a ball-end for the Selmac style tailpiece. For straight classical, I use Augustines, but short of tying a big knot in the end of the string, they really don't play nice with the GJ tailpiece.
    juststrings_2149_164005820