DjangoBooks.com

Building a guitar!

hello there.
i'm thinking about building a GJ guitar. i have no experience at all. so i want to start with a really cheap materials.

so.. my question is: how can i make it as cheapest as possible, and how much will it cost me? (assuming that i have most of the mechanical equipment).

now, i don't want to build a cardboard guitar. i'm talking about "real" guitar woods, but the cheaper ones among them.

TNX

Comments

• ElliotElliot Madison, WisconsinNew
    edited December 2009 Posts: 551
    My opinion: there are many more sources of help in terms of learning material available for just a normal guitar, so I'd say for that reason alone start by building one of those. Most artisan crafts like this have separate skills you need to develop. You didn't say if you have any woodshop in your background, so make a couple of necks first. if you don't use one you can always throw it on another guitar later. If you succeed with that, you'd probably realize that if you built a wooden thingamajig with nails sticking out of it to help you set the frets better it would have been much easier, ha-ha. So build one of those...multiply by 10,000 for everything you'll do better next time over the next few years to get a decent sounding guitar! Then decide if you want to build or play: you'll never master both.

Bob Holo might be able to give you an idea of what a small shop setup would run, but just from my person observations it can get close to what you'd pay if you hired Bob himself to make a guitar for you, so you'd be much better off befriending someone with a one and renting some time there, if you can swing something like that (which hopefully you've already done). Good luck.
  • Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
    edited December 2009 Posts: 795