DjangoBooks.com

G string breaking

Everybody talks about E strings breaking all the time, which kind of mystifies me. I've got about 6 complete sets sans G strings. I am just a hobbyist, so I only replace my (Argentine) strings maybe 3 or 4 times a year. Except the G. It is always the first to break, long before there are any signs of wear. Is this normal, or should I have my guitar (Manouche Moreno) looked at before I order a gazillion extra G strings from Djangobooks?

Comments

• PapsPierPapsPier ✭✭
    I never break E string (and I have never heard that it is the string which breaks more often) but the G and D strings very very often. And when I had the same question as you, people told me that was normal: these two strings in Argentine break easier (I don't have any explanation).

Hope it reassures you.
  • crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
    It's usually the G string which normally cuts through the outer winding first and it's definitely the one most people seem to break while playing.
    always learning
  • MattHenryMattHenry Washington, DC✭✭✭✭
    Savarez knows the G string is the weak link and you can bug them to send you a set of all G strings to use as replacements. It looks like their normal packaging only it's just 6 G strings.

I used Google Translate and had to write a few times before they got back to me. Contact email is on their website.
    Ryan RheaTed Woelke
  • I have only had one strring break in the last several years and I change about monthly.

The G string being as thin as it is has the thinnest windings. When one plays a lot the frets wear the winding away. Once it starts to eat in, the smaller diameter creates faster wear than the larger strings as well.
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • Ryan RheaRyan Rhea Memphis, TN✭✭ '02 Lehmann Eclipse