DjangoBooks.com

Correct Fingerings for MSG [UPDATE: Nov 11 2011 - new video]

edited November 2011 in Technique Posts: 17

Hello everyone!

My name is Matt Cross. This is my first DB forum post.

I am posting to get some tips on the fingerings I use for Montagne Ste. Genevieve / Valse a Django. I am concerned that the ones I am currently using will keep me from being able to speed up. The fingerings I am mainly concerned about are the ones I use for:

1) the triplets over the B7 chord in the A section (currently 3 notes per string over all six strings).

2) the descending G major and descending D7 arpeggios in the B section.

I am using what I understand to be gypsy picking (Alternate picking with downstrokes on all string changes) except for in a few of the slower spots.

If anyone has any tips or criticisms at all, I would appreciate it, whether for the two points I mentioned, or ANYTHING else. I'm fairly new to playing gypsy music like this, but I would like to develop it further.

I am using a 2.5mm Wegen pick, medium gauge Martin 80/20 Bronze strings, and a Larrivee 000 style guitar (I also have an Eastman 000 guitar with a cutaway) until I can afford a Gitane DG-255 (as per Stephane Wrembel's recommendation). I am trying to use the right hand form that I see Stephane use.

Thanks for looking. I look forward to reading what you folks have to say, and enjoying the wealth of knowledge posted on these forums.

New video - 125 BPM, much much much less swing, as per Dennis Chang's recommendation, a few different flourishes, and a more robust moustache. Thanks to all who have watched and posted thus far. I appreciate it.
Get in touch to jam if you're in the NYC area!

Comments

Nothing?

Did I post this in the wrong section?
  • Archtop EddyArchtop Eddy Manitou Springs, ColoradoModerator
    Hi Matt. Welcome to the Djangobooks forum. I'm not very good at criticing how to play GJ so I will leave that to others, but I thought I'd mention the following points: