DjangoBooks.com

long scale guitar- number of frets

hi guys

when somebody says that guitar has got long scale do they always mean certain fixed number of frets? Are there 14 fret guitars that are considered short scale guitars? I am new to the subject and my probably naive way of thinking is that everything depends on how wide are spaces between frets . Unless spaces between frets are always the same. I don't know. Please, help me to understand the whole concept. I know that long scale length refers to size like 670 mm but wonder if there are guitars considered long scale guitars but with varying number of frets- 12, 13, 14. Please, write comments

Comments

• crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
    The scale length referes to the distance of the vibrating string - in the case of most gyspy guitars from the zero fret to the bridge. The number of frets is not dependent on the scale length but the 12th fret is important as it marks the octave point above the open string. The longer the scale length the greater the distance between each fret compared to a short scale.

If you look on the inetrnet you will find a calculation which tells you where each fret should be according to the required scale length.

When people talk about 12 and 14 frets they are usually referrring to the fret where the neck joins the body. The scale length doesnt necessarily dictate where a neck is joined but it seems that shorter scale lengths are usually joined at the 12th.

There are short scale guitars which have a 14th fret join - this makes access to the higher frets easiser.

I hope that helps,

Alan
    always learning
  • crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole